Seite 1 von 3 123 LetzteLetzte
Zeige Ergebnis 1 bis 10 von 23

Thema: Question from plankton

  1. #1
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard Question from plankton

    Question from plankton on RC

    I purchased the usb to serial cable (pictured below), i did NOT install the cd that came with it. I downloaded the
    "Driver for PLM-USB, Windows 2000/XP/Vista®" file and executed the install.

    I plugged in the usb cable and got an error message.

    1) is there a particular brand of usb - serical cable i need to buy
    2) can i use the driver that came with the cable?


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  2. #2
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard

    Answer.

    The error message you show below, is related to your windows system having a conflict with the driver, this can be due to various reasons such as other drivers sharing this port.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...eat=directlink

    GHL will reply to help you address this. it normally means mapping the port before installing the driver, you say on RC you are a computer engineer so i think you will find this quite simple, but let GHL know on this forum if you need further help.


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  3. #3
    Registriert seit
    17.07.2009
    Beiträge
    33

    Standard

    ok, so how do i remap the port? and why does the disk tht come with the cable not have to do this.

    you also did not answer my question... can i use the driver that came with the cable?

    also, when the application loads where in the computer are the drivers written (what folder),, I have Vista?
    Geändert von plankton99 (23.07.2009 um 22:03 Uhr)

  4. #4
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard

    There are no special cables to connect the USB just a standard USB cable

    Go to your devise manager and see if Com3 is being used.

    Most errors occur by trying to install the driver with the profiLux already connected to the PC

    Make sure the driver has not installed and then reboot the PC and try again with the ProfiLux not connected to the PC.

    In regards to setting the driver to install on a specific port (mapping) GHL can advise on this.


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  5. #5
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard

    screen shot.jpg

    Here is the screen shot of everything loaded to a Vista machine (mine)


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  6. #6
    Registriert seit
    17.07.2009
    Beiträge
    33

    Standard

    OK here is what I did...

    1) downloaded the driver
    2) installed it, installation went fine
    3) plugged in the usb to serial cable (cable not connected to anything else), computer searched for driver, got error message posted above.
    4) below is the device manager showing and exclamation point on the Prolific driver on COM 3
    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...eat=directlink

    How do i fix this? what specific steps do i take.

  7. #7
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard

    presumably you have installed Profilux control and the version that matches the firmware you have loaded to your ProfiLux controller.

    Next to the connect button in the primary screen of profilux click on the 3 dots

    click new

    select com3

    press save and come out and try to connect selecting the new connection you have made obviously.

    As you have a exclamation over the device driver this does point to a conflict in your system, USB can be a nightmare based on what you have already sitting on your pc.

    If it does not connect please wait for GHL to assist you further.


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  8. #8
    Registriert seit
    17.07.2009
    Beiträge
    33

    Standard

    I am trying to be as clear as possible....

    The only thing on my computer installed is the usb-2-serial cable and the driver software.

    Questions:
    Do i need to install the Profilix Control Software first before the driver?
    How do i find out what version I have?


    can you call me to discuss this?

  9. #9
    Registriert seit
    19.02.2009
    Ort
    MANOTICK
    Beiträge
    866

    Standard

    Questions:
    Do i need to install the Profilix Control Software first before the driver?
    No, this is why the issue is with the PC you are using and not anything to do with the profiluc driver or software. But to establish a connection you need to install the profiLux control software.

    How do i find out what version I have?
    Right click on the desktop short cut for the ProfiLux control software and click properties this will tell you what version software you have.

    can you call me to discuss this?
    We only can provide web support at this time.

    Please follow my steps in the last post and then report back.
    Geändert von aqua_digital (23.07.2009 um 23:00 Uhr)


    GHL ProfiLux Canada/USA Distribution and support

  10. #10
    Registriert seit
    17.07.2009
    Beiträge
    33

    Standard

    Question 1: how do i find out what version of firmware i have so that i can download and install the correct software?

    Question 2: next let's solve for the driver issue first. from above i do NOT need the profilux softwre correct, just the device driver for the cable correct?

Forumregeln

  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, neue Themen zu verfassen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.
  •