Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do I need?

Default What do I need?

Hi

I am new to aquarium computers and although I have been reading about them I am not 100% sure of what I need.

I would like the computer to check the temperature of my reef tank and control it using the heater and some fans. I would like it to monitor the pH and at a later date also monitor conductivity. I would like it to control some dosing pumps and switch on/off the lights of the tank (metal halides) and the sump (LEDs). I would also want (maybe later on) to be able to remotely access the computer from my phone/laptop to see the measured parameter values and to switch on/ off things if needed. The connection to the router needs to be wireless.

Will a PII plus be able to do all this and if so what bits do I need for remote access and wireless connection to the router?
    If I go for a PIII instead what extra bits do I need?

Thank you for your help

P3 beginner package is your best bet. Speak to Gareth at progressive reef.
    P2 is being phased out

Always at sea;
    Doggydoc

I would like the computer to check the temperature of my reef tank and control it using the heater and some fans.
    For that you need a PL computer (comments later), a propeller control and a propellerbreeze (size depends on tank size) for cooling and one of the powerbars

I would like it to monitor the pH and at a later date also monitor conductivity.

I would like it to control some dosing pumps and switch on/off the lights of the tank (metal halides) and the sump (LEDs). I would also want (maybe later on) to be able to remotely access the computer from my phone/laptop to see the measured parameter values and to switch on/ off things if needed.
    For that you need the PL3 due the PLII has no build in webserver. I would reccomend the PL3ex or the PL3 now and the ex extension kit later ans also the conductivity probe.