Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Programming a Secondary (Safety) Heater

  1. #1
    Join Date
    05.01.2010
    Posts
    14

    Default Programming a Secondary (Safety) Heater

    P3 eX, FW o; 5.0.0.11.

    Sometimes heaters fail. With my previous controller, I ran 2 heaters for redundancy, each assigned to their own socket. I programmed each heater with a one-degree difference. That way, if heater 1 failed at the assigned set point of 76, then heater 2 would come to the rescue as soon as the tank reached 75... and I would know heater 1 failed simply by looking at the current temp. If the temp was 75 instead of 76, that meant heater 1 had failed and required replacement... yet my tank temp could never become dangerously low. This is how I programmed my old controller:

    If Temp < 75.5 Then HT1 ON
    If Temp > 75.8 Then HT1 OFF
    If Temp < 74.5 Then HT2 ON
    If Temp > 74.8 Then HT2 OFF

    Is this (or something similar) possible using programmable logic?
    Last edited by Jim E.; 24.03.2010 at 06:21.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    18.02.2009
    Location
    Kaiserslautern
    Posts
    7,710

    Default

    it is even simpler: use an virtual sensor

    create a virtual sensor as a copy of temp. sensor 1

    desired temp1: 75.6°F
    desired temp2: 74.6°F
    (exact values depend on the hysteresis settings)

    then assign socket a - temp1 and socket b - temp2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    05.01.2010
    Posts
    14

    Default

    OK that's amazing. The more I see, the more I'm "getting" it :-)

    Hopefully these questions & answers help others too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    07.06.2009
    Posts
    738

    Default

    question: if I look in PLC 5.0.0.11 and FW o ) I can't see virtual probes anywhere I assume those can only be created on the P3 itself ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    10.03.2009
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Yes you have to create the virtual sensor first on the controler.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    07.06.2009
    Posts
    738

    Default

    so thinking about virtual probes (and find a use for them ) and to avoid playing with hysteresis and coolingdifference (and to test multiple solutions of the same thing with the profilux)

    I could use a virtual probe to solve the issues in these threads ?
    ( same base problem in both theads )
    http://www.aquariumcomputer.com/Foru...splay.php?f=18
    http://www.aquariumcomputer.com/Foru...ead.php?t=1815

    I just set my nominal value x degrees higher on the virtual one and put the cooling socket on the virtual probe 3 ?
    Last edited by Blahenazo; 29.03.2010 at 19:26.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •