Thread: KHD Readings were too high - now too low

Default KHD Readings were too high - now too low

Hello - I am new to all this so please forgive me

I bought the KHD Standalone on the 6th - spent the day and night setting it up following the instructions from YouTube. I couldn't work out how to set up the WiFi to get access to the cloud I wanted as the next day I went away.

It told me (from memory) that KH was about 9 vs 8.3 for Salifert. I thought this was strange as I heard Salifert is inaccurately high reading so I expected the KHD to read say 7.7 or lower.

I also can't see the results in charts and have no history prior to the 15th.

Now when I returned (13th) it was still reading high - but even higher vs Salifert - and my Alk was much lower - 7. I just tried to dose conservatively - I set up the LAN and then tried about 6 attempts on the Wifi before seemingly miraculously it connected.

(In this period I lost some acros that I thought I may - like 2 deepwater / smoothskins) but my Torches (which I think don't like low Alk) looked fine. I also tried 3 different Salifert KH test kits and once I tested from 2 different one after the other - they read within 0.1 of each other. I have a science degree and that included chemistry and marine science. So I am really particular about consistent testing.

So I didn't recalibrate it and it was off - but I ran a test at 00:26 (15th) and it read 4.2

The next morning my Alk was at 6 on Salifert. I reset up the KHD, recalibrated it - following the YouTube again. KHD was reading 4.9 at 10:26. My torches are still fine. Whilst my Salifert tests stayed between 6 and 6.4 during these few days and my KHD read 5.0 at 22:26.

Ok so it's a few days later - Salifert tested 7.1 - I moved it up slowly.... KHD is showing 5.7. (last night it was 5.9 when Salifert was 6.8)