Seite 2 von 2 ErsteErste 12
Zeige Ergebnis 11 bis 20 von 20

Thema: Octo (Reef Octopus) wave and return pumps control

  1. #11
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    Thanks Vinny, I understand how the breakout box works. I still wouldn't know how to use this cable whether connecting it to the breakout box or an RJ12 as I have no idea which wires are which. If I knew that then I could use a breakout box or an RJ12.

  2. #12
    Registriert seit
    13.08.2010
    Beiträge
    3.720

    Standard

    The cable colors are not standardized, so we can't know which cable fits which pin.

    regards Pit

  3. #13
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    I had a feeling that would be the case. So the only way is by seeing how the wire is connected to the aux pin and hoping it's the same at the other end...

  4. #14
    Registriert seit
    13.08.2010
    Beiträge
    3.720

    Standard

    All you have to do is measure the cable.

  5. #15
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    So probably easier to get a simple single cable and just connect the wire connected to the wide part of the connector to pin 3 and the other cable to pin 2 or 5, based on a diagram in another thread on here.

    It looks like there should just be a negative and positive. Would there be any harm caused in getting them the wrong way around in a 2-wire cable that's just controlling a return pump?

  6. #16
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    Ok, I bought a Breakout Box.

    The aux cable has three wires - bare (assuming it's the ground), white and red.

    I bought a multimeter. No idea what I'm doing but connected the assumed ground and then found no variation on the reading with the red wire and various readings and varying pump speed with the white wire.

    What wires should I connect to which terminals? I assume the bare wire to terminal 3. White to 2? Red to anything?

  7. #17
    Registriert seit
    18.02.2009
    Ort
    Kaiserslautern
    Beiträge
    7.623

    Standard

    I think this is all you need:
    Zitat Zitat von PIWAWT Beitrag anzeigen


    Anhang 11229

    regards Pit
    Now you need to find out, which of the 2 rings resp. the tip of the jack belongs to which cable.
    Usually the yellow ring is GND and goes to the shield (bare).
    Not sure about the other 2, but a DMM will show you if they belong to red or white.
    No support or warranty issues over PM! Please send PMs to the moderators only if you have general problems with using the forum! Thanks for helping us to keep the support efficient.
    Kein Support oder Reklamationsabwicklung über PM! Bitte senden Sie an die Moderatoren nur PMs bei allgemeinen Problemen mit der Verwendung des Forums! Danke dass Sie uns dabei helfen, den Support effektiv zu gestalten.

  8. #18
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    Zitat Zitat von Matthias Beitrag anzeigen
    I think this is all you need:


    Now you need to find out, which of the 2 rings resp. the tip of the jack belongs to which cable.
    Usually the yellow ring is GND and goes to the shield (bare).
    Not sure about the other 2, but a DMM will show you if they belong to red or white.
    What's a DMM?

    When testing the wires with a multimeter I get nothing from the red wire and fluctuating readings from the white wire, so I'm guessing that I just connect the bare ground wire to terminal 3 and the white wire to terminal 2, but I've not done this before or actually used a multimeter before so I'm hoping to get some confirmation?

  9. #19
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    I guess DMM = Digital MultiMeter...

    So the wire that provides a reading would be the wire that I connect to terminal 2.

    I'll give it a go and see what happens.

  10. #20
    Registriert seit
    26.12.2018
    Beiträge
    11

    Standard

    That worked fine. I assumed the bare wire was the ground and then found the wire that gave a reading with the multimeter. That wire was put in terminal 2 and it works fine. Using a multimeter was the key to this and once I got hold of one it was easy to get this working.

    Far simpler than I was thinking and the breakout box does make it far easier than fiddling around trying to get two wires into the slots on an RJ12.

Forumregeln

  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, neue Themen zu verfassen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.
  •