PDA

View Full Version : Dimmable T5's

jpdarr
09.07.2011, 22:56
Hello, I need some help.
I have a profilux 3 and I am looking to switch to dimmable ballasts.
I am currently using the following actinic lighting:
Sunlight Supply 39W T5 Tek Retrofit System - (36 Inch, 2 Bulb) x 2
Giesmann Powerchrome 39 W-T5 bulbs x 4

Questions:

1. I see lots of people recommend the Advance Mark 10 Powerline Dimmable Ballast (2 x 24w)
2. Is this the correct ballast that I need? Do I need to get a 39 Watt ballast (as my bulbs are 39 watt), or does the 24 watt ballast work the same for both bulb wattages? (sorry, I am not well educated on this stuff)
3. Will I need to replace any of the end caps on my Sunlight Supply system? (I have heard this but not sure what the reasoning is)
4. I have been using these bulbs for a couple months now. Will I need to “burn them in” before dimming them?
5. Is there a better bulb that you would recommend for dimming that has the same spectrum as the Giesmann Powerchromes?
6. If I order one of the Profilux EVG-AP-2F Ballast Control Board’s, will this allow me to operate the two dimmable ballast individually? (so I can have 1 ballast dimming bulbs at a different time than the other ballast)
7. My last question, is I have some LED moonlights. I’d like to be able to dim them as well. Can you tell me what else I would need to accomplish this?

Sorry for the mountain of questions.
Thanks
Jason

Wirus
09.07.2011, 23:49
1. I see lots of people recommend the Advance Mark 10 Powerline Dimmable Ballast (2 x 24w)
With right size (see 2.) the Philips ballasts should ok.. but I have no experience with it. The Osram Quicktronic QTi 1x21/39/220-240 DIM (which I have) may also a good choice, you can use the 2x version for two bulbs.

2. Is this the correct ballast that I need? Do I need to get a 39 Watt ballast (as my bulbs are 39 watt), or does the 24 watt ballast work the same for both bulb wattages? (sorry, I am not well educated on this stuff)