PDA

View Full Version : LAN Connection Trouble

weese3
13.01.2010, 04:27
I am having a world of trouble getting my profilux to connect through my LAN card, and my Computer does not have a 9 PIN serial port on it.... Profilux recogizes the card, PC software was locating it but not connecting, and now I have managed to get it to not even see the LAN anymore.... The LAn tutorial was almost useless to me, so if there is anyone that can help, please do :-)

Adam

P.S. I am a truck driver, not a PC guy :-) so baby steps are best lol

weese3
13.01.2010, 05:01
OK so I got a Serial to USB cable, loaded the driver for it, and looky there I can now connect through the serial port.... Now how do I configure it to see the LAN card?

GHL Support
13.01.2010, 08:06
OK, let's go...

First thing we must know is: what ProfiLux are we talking about?
Perhaps a ProfiLux Plus 2?
Second, how do you connect the ProfiLux to the LAN? Do you connect it to a router (box connected to the internet and PC)?
What operation system are you using?

weese3
13.01.2010, 13:32
It is a Profilux Plus II EX, I am using Windows Vista, and I am trying to connect through a router.

Thanks

Adam

GHL Support
13.01.2010, 15:10
Ok Adam,

I assume that your PLM-LAN is proppely installed into the ProfiLux and the ProfiLux is running. The control LEDs of the routers port (where The ProfiLux connected to) and the LAN Module LEDs are glowing.

First you must know if you are using fixed IP address on your network, or if you use DHCP.

Start the command line:
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:
Type the following command:
IPCONFIG /ALL

Then you can see your PC's IP address, your subnet mask, gateway address and if DHCP is enabled...

For example:
DHCP active: yes
IP address: 192.168.1.10
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
gateway: 192.168.1.1

In this case DHCP is enabled (most common). If no DHCP enabled, you must set the IP address matching to your network...

With DHCP the rest is easy: