Seite 1 von 2 12 LetzteLetzte
Zeige Ergebnis 1 bis 10 von 13

Thema: Configuring the WiFi module

  1. #1
    Registriert seit
    04.11.2015
    Beiträge
    306

    Standard Configuring the WiFi module

    # Initial setup with GHL Control Center and USB
    * In GCC->Menu->Communication, you can enter the relevant WiFi-mode (in most cases this is Client-mode/Infrastructure).
    * After filling out the credentials SSID/Passphrase of the router the settings can be saved.
    * After disconnecting the connection in GCC, the data will be transmitted to the WiFi module and the module will restart.
    * Under some circumstances, it can be necessary to restart the GHL device.

    ## Reading configuration file from internal storage
    * setting up WiFi-AP/STA with DHCP or static-IP according to stored settings
    * on failure: offering 120 seconds WPS-PushButton possibility

    ## WPS (PushButton method)
    * active for 120 seconds after error while establishing WiFi correctly.
    * retrieving WiFi-credentials from homenetwork-router with PushButton-method
    * only for STA-mode
    * DHCP-IP

    ## AP-mode fail-safe
    * active for 120 seconds after failing setting up WPS
    * setting up WiFi with default credentials and IP address
    * SSID (case-sensitive): GHLdev-(MAC[3-5])
    * Passphrase (case-sensitive): Starfish
    * AccessPoint-IP-Adresse: 192.168.4.1/24

    ## AccessPoint+Standalone mode
    * user configurable via GHL Control Center or WebInterface from WiFi-module-WebServer

    ## Disabling WiFi
    * via GHL Control Center under Communication, check the option 'WiFi Off'.
    * an unconfigured module without stored data, will be shutdown after four minutes.


    These configuration methods are under steady development and get more extensions in the future, in order to achieve best user experience. A new firmware version for the WiFi-module is already in development and is likely to be released at the end of the year.
    Geändert von MatthiasF (15.02.2017 um 13:13 Uhr)
    No support or warranty issues over PM! Please send PMs to the moderators only if you have general problems with using the forum! Thanks for helping us to keep the support efficient.
    Kein Support oder Reklamationsabwicklung über PM! Bitte senden Sie an die Moderatoren nur PMs bei allgemeinen Problemen mit der Verwendung des Forums! Danke dass Sie uns dabei helfen, den Support effektiv zu gestalten.

  2. #2
    Registriert seit
    09.11.2016
    Beiträge
    86

    Standard

    I have been trying to do this but not managing to connect wirelessly. The best I have got to so far is so that the P4 is broadcasting (can be seen via phones etc) but won't connect. I have the PLM/PWC card but not installed yet. No probes or sockets plugged in at all.

    1. Am I right thing there is NO direct connection to the router - i.e. the P4 connects to my existing wireless network wirelessly and NOT via ethernet or homeplug?

    2. If so, how do I then connect my laptop to it?

    3. Please explain the difference between Client Mode/Infrastructure and the one with access point? Why would I choose one over the other?

    4. The wifi light on the unit doesn't light up - is there some on/off setting for wireless, if so, where is it!

    5. I already have 4 x LX7206 that I can connect to from my laptop. Do I have to delete them and set them up again somehow for the PLM/PWC once I can wirelessly connect to the P4?

    I will scrub everything and start again tomorrow. The sort of settings I have been trying to use are:

    SSID - my network name
    WPA/PSK
    Password - my network password

    Auto IP address (but how do I know what it is!)

    SAVE settings. Disconnect. Unplug USB. Connect...

    Have I missed anything?

  3. #3
    Registriert seit
    09.11.2016
    Beiträge
    86

    Standard

    I have manged to connect. I wasdoing everything right BUT I got one letter in my network as lower instead of uppercase and secondly, I had to reboot GCC after setup... it now works :-)

  4. #4
    Registriert seit
    05.01.2018
    Ort
    Aarhus C
    Beiträge
    24

    Standard

    Hello Matthias / GHL

    I just updated the WiFi firmware and theres a couple of glitches I'd like to point out

    When I attempt to update the file "spiffs.bin" i get an error
    Spiffs.png

    And after this the webserver is showing a WIFI module firmware version: n/a in the bottom of the webpage
    Web-NA.png

    I followed the instructions, so I wonder if i'm missing something here ?


    Best regards, Brock

  5. #5
    Registriert seit
    04.11.2015
    Beiträge
    306

    Standard

    Hello Brock,

    the latest version of GHL Control Center v1.1.0.8 contains the updated wifi module firmware and
    filesystem file, which you can install with the included WiFi-Update-Tool over the USB-connection.
    Please follow the instructions in the program.
    No support or warranty issues over PM! Please send PMs to the moderators only if you have general problems with using the forum! Thanks for helping us to keep the support efficient.
    Kein Support oder Reklamationsabwicklung über PM! Bitte senden Sie an die Moderatoren nur PMs bei allgemeinen Problemen mit der Verwendung des Forums! Danke dass Sie uns dabei helfen, den Support effektiv zu gestalten.

  6. #6
    Registriert seit
    05.01.2018
    Ort
    Aarhus C
    Beiträge
    24

    Standard

    Well, is it safe to rely on a Beta ?

    Best regards, Brock

  7. #7
    Registriert seit
    05.01.2018
    Ort
    Aarhus C
    Beiträge
    24

    Standard

    Hello again

    Well, it triggers a virus warning when I try to install, is it a false alarm ?
    GCC 108.png

    I'm running GCC via MS remote desktop, but this should't affect it I guess ?


    All the best, Brock
    Geändert von Mistahbrock (22.01.2018 um 16:12 Uhr)

  8. #8
    Registriert seit
    27.05.2015
    Beiträge
    986

    Standard

    Download and use the newest version of GCC.

    The previous GCC triggered a false positive virus message.

  9. #9
    Registriert seit
    05.01.2018
    Ort
    Aarhus C
    Beiträge
    24

    Standard

    Is that the 1.08 version ?

    I just downloaded it 20 minutes ago, and it triggered a virus, it's in the screenshot above


    Thanks
    Geändert von Mistahbrock (22.01.2018 um 17:00 Uhr)

  10. #10
    Registriert seit
    05.01.2018
    Ort
    Aarhus C
    Beiträge
    24

    Standard

    Hello again

    I just updated the WIFI module to the latest version - 6589.

    My email notifications stop working when I use static IP instead of DHCP, so it seems to be a bit beta / buggy still

    Or maybe I'm missed something ?

    All the best, Brock
    Geändert von Mistahbrock (22.01.2018 um 17:08 Uhr)

Forumregeln

  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, neue Themen zu verfassen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
  • Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.
  •